Edl  Schamiloglu


Phone: 505.277.4423
Fax: 505.277.8298

Physical Address

Room 323C
Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE)
Building # 46 on the UNM map

Mailing Address

MSC01 1100
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131-1070

Photo: true

Distinguished Professor

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Personal Website


PhD, Engineering (Minor Mathematics), Cornell University, 1988

MS, Plasma Physics, Columbia University, 1981

BS, Applied Physics, Columbia University, 1979


Edl Schamiloglu was born in The Bronx, NY in 1959. He received the B.S. degree from the Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics Department at Columbia University, NY, in 1979; he received the M.S. degree in Plasma Physics from Columbia University in 1981; he received the Ph.D. degree in Engineering (minor in Mathematics) from Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, in 1988 (dissertation advisor David A. Hammer, J.C. Ward Jr. Professor of Nuclear Energy Engineering). He joined the University of New Mexico (UNM) as Assistant Professor in 1988 and he is currently Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He is also the Special Assistant to the Provost for Laboratory Relations. He lectured at the U.S. Particle Accelerator School (Harvard University in 1990 and at MIT in 1997). He coedited Advances in High Power Microwave Sources and Technologies (IEEE Press/Wiley, New York, NY, 2001) (with R.J. Barker), he has co-authored High Power Microwaves, 3rd Ed. (CRC Press, Boca Raton, FL, 2016) (with J. Benford and J. Swegle), and he is coediting Advances in High Power Microwave Sources and Technologies using Metamaterials (with J.W. Luginsland, J.A. Marshall, and A. Nachman) (IEEE Press/Wiley, New York, NY, 2021). He has co-authored over 170 refereed journal papers, over 270 reviewed conference papers, and 8 patents. His publications have been cited over 8000 times. His h-index is 38 and his i10-index is 141. He has been PI on over $35M of contracts and grants at UNM.

Professor Schamiloglu is a Fellow of the IEEE, a Fellow of the American Physical Society, and an EMP Fellow (sponsored by the Summa Foundation). He was awarded the 2013 IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society’s Richard F. Shea Distinguished Member Award “For outstanding contributions to the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society through its Pulsed Power Science and Technology and Plasma Science and Applications Technical Committees,” the 2014 IEC ‘1906 Award’ “For his valuable technical contributions to SC77C projects and specifically for his technical contributions with respect to HPEM source technologies to support the standardization of test techniques for HPEM/IEMI,” the 2015 IEEE NPSS PPST Peter Haas Award “For research in the area of pulsed power, beams, and microwaves, and for his dedicated service to the current and future pulsed power community through his leadership and educational endeavors,” the 2017 UNM Senior Faculty Research Excellence Award, and the 2019 (inaugural) IEEE NPSS Magne “Kris” Kristiansen Award “For outstanding contributions in experimental nuclear and plasma science.”

Teaching Interests

  • Mathematical Foundations of Engineering Electromagnetics
  • Electromagnetics
  • Plasma Physics
  • Neurosystems Engineering

Research Interests

  • High Sources of Coherent Electromagnetic Radiation
  • Charged Particle Beam Generation and Propagation
  • High Power Microwave Effects

Center/Laboratory/Program Affiliations